Off work early… What to do?

I’m quickly learning that just like on the ambulance, no single day at the Doc office is the same.  Monday-Wednesday, and every other Saturday the clinic side is open.  Monday through Saturday the ECP department is open.  My clinic has 4 ECP beds, and today the schedule only had 7 patients listed.  The last treatment was scheduled to go on at noon and end by 2:15 PM.  Well, the last two patients were supposed to both be in at noon.  By 1:45 PM, they hadn’t showed up, no phone calls.  Myself and my coworker had the entire clinic cleaned and mopped up, and we finally decided to hit the road.  I would have liked to stay a bit longer (milk the hours), but she wanted to leave, and I have no keys/code for the building.  So, it was an early day.

Now its almost 3:30 PM, I’ve been home for an hour and a half, and I have no idea what to do with myself.  I’m not used to this schedule, and I’m not quite used to working again.  Its a nice change, but on an early day like today, I have no clue what to do.  Everyone else is still at work, and I have no errands that need to be done…  Paid all my bills on Tuesday, all my laundry is finished, the animals have been fed…  Hell, Grandpa isn’t even home to give me a list of shit to do.  He’s off being treated to a pedicure by my cousin.  Lucky him.  I want someone to take me for a pedicure!  Ehh, not really.

I could go wash all the construction dirt off my car… Meh.  

It’s nice having most of the afternoon off and the evenings.  I’ve had them off for the last year and a half too, but that wasn’t has nice as it is now… being unemployed and all.  At least now I’m getting paid for parts of my days.  Its nice not working nights either, aside from overnights/weekend shifts at the rescue squad.  Every job I’ve had in the past has usually been 2nd shift.  By the time I got off work at 11/12 at night, everyone else would be getting ready for bed, and I’d just be starting my ‘day’.

Its a nice 65* out, compared to the 30’s-40’s-50’s we’ve had the last week or so.  Maybe I’ll get off my computer and take my doggy for a walk…  maybe I’ll mosey next door to the neighbors house and make sure he isn’t mad at me for parking in his driveway.  Either way, I’m not letting myself fall into a nap and waste what may be one of the last nice days before the temps plummet to freezing, and I have to be bribed to leave the house to tromp through the cold, white shit.

Hope everyone else had as good a day as I have!

Leave a comment