House Hunting

This situation with the house is getting old.  It’s the only thing I seem to be able to write about.  I just can’t stop freaking out, granted the freak-outs are well understandable…

We are running low on time.  The time spent the last few weeks has been about getting boxes for packing and talking to lawyers, Realtor’s, and relentless internet searches for homes that are affordable and can fit three people, as well as a dog and a handful of cats.  A lot of people would say to lighten the load, get rid of the pets.  Easier said than done.  My dog is almost 11 years old and its kinda hard to just get a rid of him after all this time.

It’s a expensive area I live in, and all the surrounding towns aren’t much cheaper.  Most of them are the same price range.  It seems like I can’t even find a one-bedroom anything for an affordable price.  We looked at one house in my town.  It was less than 1,000 square feet, 2 bedrooms, one bathroom, fenced yard, and pet-friendly.  However, it was so small that my belongings wouldn’t fit.  The bedrooms were so small, that my bed would take up 95% of the space.  They were asking $1075.  Yeah, not gonna work…

I found a really nice place a few miles away from where I am now, for $1200/month.  It was over 2,000 square foot with two of everything… Kitchens, bathrooms, fireplaces, garage spaces, was also pet friendly with a huge yard and not to far for me or my mom to travel to work.  It had a loft, basement, and a screened-in porch.  It was gorgeous and damn I wanted it. I talked to the Realtor and it was rented two days after it was put online.

Like I said… we are running out of time and according to all the people we have talked too, my grandpa is so far behind and with his mortgage history.  So, the search for a place continues.

I found a house tonight, and I’m going to call the Realtor first thing in the morning.  Its 1185 square feet, 2 bedroom, furnished basement and pet friendly.  It has a 1 car garage, back porch, and is pet-friendly.  The kitchen has all appliances, including a dishwasher (Oh to not have to hand-was dishes anymore!!!).  It’s still close to my paid job, and close enough for my mom to still keep all her clients for her business.  The town is also the same town I volunteer my EMS services.  It would be awesome to live in district.  My status would change, I’d be able to get a blue-emergency light for my car and respond to calls from home that they may need help on when I’m off duty.

I’m not going to get my hopes up.  The pictures of the place are awesome and I wouldn’t be at-all shocked if the Realtor tells me not available.  If it is still for rent… I’ll be honest.  Credit check isn’t going to work out in my families favor….  none of us off a good credit background… However with my grandpa’s social security, my income from the Doc office, and moms income we would totally be able to swing it and still pay bills.  Maybe the Realtor lives in the same town, and I can gain brownie points by being a rescue squad member.  Who knows?  But either way Grandpa may have to lose a couple hundred channels on the DirecTV, and I may lose my internet… Who cares.  A roof over our heads is more important than entertainment.

Oh well… fingers and toes crossed.
And alarm set to wake up early to make a phone call.

2 Responses to House Hunting

  1. Kat says:

    I really hope all works out for you and your family. I know you’ll be glad to have this search over with.

    • True. All though I think I’d be happier if I didn’t have all the baggage of sick family and my own financial burdens so I could just get the hell out of Dodge and be my own adult again! lol

Leave a Reply

