That’s the Bravest 7-Year-Old I Ever Saw

I hate child patients.
Okay, I don’t hate them, I just don’t like to have kids in the back of my ambulance.
I always feel so bad for the kid sitting on my cot…
terrified, screaming, crying, in complete fear as to what the creepy strangers are going to do to them, parent present or not.

Depending on the severity of the illness, the child is one of two things; screaming to the high heavens, or to out of it to know whats going on.
One thing:  A quiet child means you should be scared.  

This past Thursday night I responded to the tones of a “Child Ill”.  A 7-year-old with an asthma attack.  When I arrived on scene, the child had on their nebulizer mask, sucking down number “parent lost count” of treatment.  Nothing was helping the poor kid.

With as many treatments given, and no relief, it was time to go into the hospital.  Mom and older sister grabbed up the needed items for the trip as we picked up the child patient and placed them on to the cot.  Mom said she was trailing the rig in the car, and asked if the sister could go along for the ride for a calming influence on the kid.

Sister: “You want me to ride in the ambulance with you?”

(Part that killed me/melted my heart)

Patient:  “No, I got this.  You can ride with mom.”

It told me that my tiny, little 7-year-old patient had been through this, many times before.  It was heart-wrenching to know that this kid had obviously been through this enough times to have no fear of the “scary ambulance people”.  We wrapped the little one up like a papoose,  the blankets swallowing the little body like a little Eskimo baby…

Not once did I get a hint of fear from my little patient.  Looking in my rear view mirror I saw smiles coming from my crew member in the back, telling me the kid was okay and later I found out, cracking corny little jokes through the gasps of their breath.

The toughest little kid patient I have ever had been dropped off at the ER, looking better than when I picked ’em up.  Color returned, slower breaths, and mom was there before we packed up and left the ER.  →

←  I found out less than 3 hours ago that my Trooper, didn’t respond as needed to the breathing treatments and had to be intubated 😦
I’m have a feeling that at 7-years-old with the history of asthma and lack of response to the breathing treatments from Mom and the ER, its been done before.

Call me sensitive…  I just hate to see children sick.  I don’t even like seeing when my almost-three-year-old niece can’t poop and gets a stomach-ache.  I’m lucky to say that in my 3 years on the ambo I can count the number of kid-patients I’ve had on two hands.  I’m glad that 98% of my patients have been teens and adults.  Young ones are so hard to predict…  you can have a child with normal vitals one moment, and the next they crash.  With teenagers and adults, you (more often than not) get signs such as dropping vitals before a potential crash.  With little kids, not so much.

I’m rooting for my lil’ Trooper.
I have full confidence that (s)he is going to pull through.
Any kid that brave has my best bet!
🙂

Leave a Reply

