I’m Just an EMT…

I’ve picked your grandma off the floor after she had an aneurysm, and later passed…

I’ve sat on scene for 30 minutes with your son trying to intubate him after he shot himself in the head… and he lived.

I’ve lifted your 80-something year-old mother off the concrete driveway in 40* weather, after she layed there for 3 hours waiting for her neighbors to hear her yell for help after she slipped on ice and broke her hip…

I’ve transported your 6 month old child, and prevented them from coding after you shoved a washcloth into their throat…

I’ve sat on the side of the road in 20* temps and 5 feet of snow, in nothing but a fleece jacket for 4 hours waiting on the coroner to come and take your boyfriend to the morgue after he was fatally hit by a car…

I did compression’s on your 28-year-old son’s chest for 20 minutes on the way into the hospital after he was hit by a boat while riding his jet-ski… Teaching me that I could do this job…

I’ve taken your husband in after he presented with signs of a stroke, and got off shift to go home to my family only to find out it was Bacterial Meningitis…  Exposing them, including my own end-stage COPD grandfather who is susceptible to anything

I’ve held you in my arms, promising it will be okay and get better after your boyfriend beat you.

I’ve cried alongside the 74-year-old woman who has been beaten her whole marriage…

I’ve pounded on the chest’s and pushed breaths into those who have overdosed…

I’ve carried you down 2 flights of stairs, a 100 foot walkway, and carefully placed you into the back of my ambulance because my monitor showed me you were in the midst of a “Widow-maker”…

I’ve wrapped your 17-year-old daughters ankle in bandages after her brother dared her to ride the mini-bike…

I’ve held your son’s hand after he was found drunk and cutting himself, only to try and reach out to him, explaining from my own experience, that cutting solves nothing…  Gaining his trust more than anyone has in years…

I’ve held your daughter’s hand after she stopped breathing from too much alcohol and getting raped, promising her that she isn’t going to die as she goes unconscious every five minutes…

I’ve busted the governor on my ambulance when I pushed the ambulance to 85MPH trying to get your mother to the hospital after she stopped breathing…

I’ve held your 15-year-old daughter in my arms, listening to her and letting her cry,  after she said she wanted to die, because you made her feel unimportant…

I’ve cried along side and held the hand of the girl who tried to slit her wrist’s, because I understood her pain..

I’ve driven your confused 14-year-old son to the ER after he face-planted his BMX bike on the half-pipe of the local skate park and knocked himself out, as well as his adult teeth…

I’ve pulled up to your house and grabbed you as you fell to the ground when you stood outside your house as your heard my partner try to silently tell dispatch to call the coroner after you found your mother hanging in the garage…

I’ve pulled your wife out of the car and on to the backboard after the fire department cut away the mangled metal entrapping her inside…

I’ve sat on scene pronouncing the unfortunate DOA’s as I rushed to the next victim to see what I could do…

I’ve sat with your child after they flipped their car, and was okay waiting for you to show up on scene to take them home…

I’ve called your phone to tell your that your child is on the way to the hospital for *** reason…

I work with a wonderful mix of Firefighters, Paramedics, EMT’s, Doctors, Nurses, Medical Examiners, Police Officers, and religious personnel.

I just have one question… 
Could you?

Could you deal with what I see each shift?
Every week?  Every weekend?  Every day?

Could you hold the hand of someone taking their last breath?
Could you tell a parent that their child isn’t gonna make it?

… And I’m just a Volunteer EMT…

4 Responses to I’m Just an EMT…

  1. Johanni Smit says:

    Leah! This had me in complete tears! Can not for one moment belive they want to disband you guys!
    Even though I am thousand’s of miles away, I’d proudly stand behind you and back you up all the way!
    I’d be proud to have a partner such as you!
    Keep strong, keep faith!

  2. Wrong says:

    If you’re “Just an EMT” then you couldn’t have intubated someone.

Leave a Reply

